2015 Incoming Presidents message

Greeting to everyone

For those of you who don’t know me, I am a sheep and beef farmer in the Motueka area. Married to my very supportive wife Kate, with two grown up children one of which (Pete) is involved in the sport.

I have been involved in the sport since 1989, although like many competitors had to give up the sport for just over 9 years due to the financial restraints of trying to establish career and a young family.

Whether you are competing at the top level of our sport or at the other end of the scale there is a very unique culture and comradery with this sport which I believe is second to none and something that keeps many of us coming back each season.

It was very humbling to be nominated as the new president, a role that I had never considered for myself at this level, but when discussing it with the executive I believe there is plenty of support and good advice available. I have noticed a trend though, the president’s position in the past few years is a very short lived tenure.

The AGM meeting at Rotorua went smoothly with many new faces in the executive roles. It was very evident that all the executive are there for the greater good of our sport. You will be able to read more about in this publication.

There has been plenty of good work done by the past executive members which needs to be built on; for example the long term strategic plan, a look at revamping our national constitution and these are only two examples of the good work that has been initiated.

I am sure the new council will endeavour to continue the good work done by the past council and move forward with the support of you the competitors.

I would to thank Kevin Mahuika for all the work he put in as the past president as well as his support and advice since then. To all the hard working supporters of the sport a huge thank you for your loyal dedication.

I look forward to meeting many of you during the season and wish you all the successes you deserve and enjoyment for the coming season.

Dave McEwen (President)